Google incorrectly paused ads on my site due to "invalid traffic"

Hello,

I’ve been working with AdSense for more than five years now, but earlier today Google paused ads on my site because they’ve “invalid traffic” concerns.

Some background: 4 digits monthly earning, steady CPC/RPM and normal CTR of 1.0 to 1.5%, no massive clawback/invalid traffic issue in past, and site is popular/well known in the industry with recognition from CNN and others. Traffic is 1-2M a month.

Services I use:

• Google Cloud / Google Cloud security and Sucuri. I personally monitor the logs too. Nothing odd.

The above background is to clarify that I am not engaged in any shady activities and I well am aware of the terms & conditions.

The main story:

My Google organic traffic increased significantly between March 10-17. The traffic increased because users have issues with a particular product after the update, and my articles with workaround were ranking first, so naturally, my traffic improved.

From 30-50K average traffic, my traffic increased to 90-120K a day and it lasted until yesterday night. Traffic is now back to normal.

Traffic sources:

• Google
  • Google News.

Traffic platform:

• Desktop 90%

Locations:

• US
  • EU

Naturally, AdSense revenue tripled between March 10-17, but unfortunately, my happiness lasted for a few days and I received this email from Google today:

Ad serving limit placed on your AdSense account

It’s quite obvious that I did not click on my own ads, I did not ask others to click on ads, my ad placements never had issues in past, and traffic is from Google, so I am not sure how the traffic is “invalid”.

My understanding is that Google will sabotage your company if they detect a sudden rise in traffic/earnings.

It’s very likely that I won’t get paid properly for this month’s revenue, so all the money is going to Google.