Shortcut tip: Quickly Noindex 1000s of WordPress Attachment Pages

dailydose

(I am a magician!) #1

WordPress creates attachment page for each uploaded media file. It comes in two forms.

Whatever, it is very thin content and invites Google Panda penalty.

So, we should always prefer keeping this kind of pages with meta robots noindex tag.

or, for non-attached media file.

One of my clients recently faced this problem because of her previous SEO’s mistake. They had forgotten to set noindex for attachment path after switching from All in One SEO to Yoast SEO plugin.

As a result, index counts increased rapidly and affected Site performance in the SERPs. In Google Analytics, the traffic graph was going downhill. As a webmaster, I can understand the frustration, when we lose traffic suddenly.

The blog for which I was working - originally, including post and pages, had roughly 300 pages. But index count 2900+

Screenshot: 04/Feb/2018, 08:59PM IST Before implementing the workaround.

indexing anything on the web is so easy in comparison to removing it. Sometimes search engine takes enough time to re-crawl the pages.

Newbies often do mistake in frustration by doing some stupid thing using robots.txt

User-agent:*
Disallow: /blah-blah-blah/

More than good, it does harm. Even if you add a Disallow rule that doesn’t affect already indexed links.

Right way: We should prefer using meta robots only.

<meta name="robots" content="noindex,follow" />

Yoast SEO offers a one-click feature to set noindex for all media files.

Again… here some webmasters were doing mistakes by redirecting attachment to post. :man_facepalming:

Now, what’s about non-attached media file, that you never used in the post?

Is it suppose to be redirected? Never. Ref: Warning message. (Yoast SEO Version 6.3.1).

So, what’s the right way to use Yoast plugin for keeping noindex the attachment path?

1. Don’t set redirect.

2. Set noindex for Media