Sucuri Review – The good and the bad

I have been using Sucuri since almost 2 years and thought of writing a review for the service. In this post, I will cover both – the good and the bad about sucuri. Might be a lengthy post.

The most necessary part – Sucuri WAF.

If you are someone who receives even 5000 views per day on your site, then you should consider Sucuri firewall or Web application firewall. Why? Because robots will attack your site consistently once u reach certain traffic. I know several bloggers who have more then 100 attacks in a day. These might be DDOS or malware or any other types. Even behind Sucuri WAF, I was infected with malware twice in last 2 years. But I had the malware protection plan so sucuri saved my site. If you cant afford a malware scanner in the start, you should definitely have a WAF at least.

The second most necessary part – Speed and performance

Yes – most of us use CDN’s. And many of us look for cheaper alternatives. But did u know, that for just $10, you could afford a WAF and a CDN. Sucuri acts like a proxy and it caches your pages in its server. I have found its image delivery and overall page caching to be fantastic.

A firewall has to cache your pages. This is done so that your website is not affected when a DDOS attack happens. The DDOS happens on sucuri’s server instead. Thus saving your own server a lot of bandwidth.

In this, there is one point I will add – change your login URL. Change it to something other then wp-admin. Whether u use firewall or not, this is a very important step for your wordpress install.

The problematic part – Caching duration